My Blog Comments

1 Feb

Comment #1

  • Media Benefits, PR PRospering

  • http://prprospering.wordpress.com/2009/11/25/media/#comment-2

  • January 29, 2010

  • I believe that knowing your audience is very important. Surprisingly, many people read the newspaper and watch the news on T.V. In some cases, there are those who are unable to access a computer in order to read online articles or watch online web feeds. On the other hand, our current generation has a huge advantage over Public Relations representatives and journalists of previous decades: The internet has provided the ease of accessing worldwide information by simply typing key words into a search engine. The media definitely benefits from the internet but it may also become difficult to be the first to break a news story since an internet post can be done in seconds. Overall, I believe that the internet benefits the media more than it hurts it.

Comment #2

  • Is Anybody Listening?, Inside the World of Public Relations

  • February 1,2010

  • Oh man! I definitely agree that it’s horrible to expect a response from someone and simply receive an error message. Comments are indeed encouraging, particularly for a first-time blogger since they tend to feel like they are writing to themselves (kind of how some of us feel as new bloggers in Professor Nixon’s class). I agree that comments help us, as authors, to cater to whoever is listening. Most likely an author is able address topics mentioned via comments by other bloggers. Another thing that comments do for an author is get them involved in their blog community, or maybe we can call it a blogosphere? If they link to your page, other readers may be interested in your writings and subscribe to your blog. It is also good for bloggers to comment on posts that they like and link back to them in order to return the favor.

Comment #3

  • T.O.W Week 2 ( Grammar Girl), Danielle’s PR Writing World

  • February 1, 2010

  • I believe that it is so stressful as a public relations representative or journalist to know that one simple mistake can cause one their job. It is crucial for one to learn a way to catch simple errors in order to display professionalism in one’s news articles, blog posts, etc.

    Most likely after one has been writing for a while, they can learn what their usual mistakes are and be able to correct them with no problem. Grammar websites like Grammar Girl’s are excellent because one simple post can help one understand an aspect of grammar in a completely different way. For me, when I am told by another how to write with correct style in a particular subject, it makes a lot more sense than to simply read the AP Stylebook myself.

    Although struggling with dyslexia as a writer can be nerve-racking, after you get used to your writing and become aware of your common mistakes you will build confidence and your worry of making errors will diminish.

Comment #4

  • Week 5: Superbowl Ads, Mallory Boulware

  • February 16, 2010

  • That was a very odd trailer. I was only able to watch the ending of the Super Bowl so I didn’t see that commercial until now. It just looks like a movie of childbirth madness. I guess it falls under the “teaser” category but it looks so crazy that I don’t know if I care to know what the movie will be about. The title of the movie doesn’t explain anything and let alone doesn’t even seem to match the scenes depicted in the commercial. If anything the commercial brings even more fear to those women who dread to experience the pain of childbirth. It is true what you said about laughter, and I agree. I’ve heard it said that to make someone laugh is to capture their heart but this commercial does not make me laugh at all it just makes me confused and annoyed by all the screaming. Maybe future trailers of this movie will describe a little more and attract more viewers.

Comment #5

  • 10.5 ways for pr students to get the most out of twitter by Barbara Nixon

  • February 25, 2010

  • All the advice that you have listed here is very essential. It really helps us keep our Twitter accounts neat and professional. I would like for you to inform us on the other things you link to on Twitter such as four square (which I really don’t have an idea what it is yet, but I am going to it look up) and What The Hashtag (which you shared in class today) in order for students to learn how to navigate the hashtag “chat-room-like” environment. Some tips on how to locate professionals in our field of study would also be helpful. I have already learned a lot of ways in which Twitter can benefit a college student that will be seeking internships and jobs (once graduated). I hope to continue learning ways in which I can make my tweets be worth reading and in that way gain some followers that appreciate my tweets.

Comment # 6

  • Is Twitter for Me? by Tara Parker

  • March 7, 2010

  • Hey Tara! I can pretty much relate to the way that you started using Twitter. By reading some of your tweets I can see that you have been figuring this Twitter thing out well. I just recently started checking out hashtags such as #prstudchat, etc. and I’m also looking forward to connect with professionals in my career field but am still attempting to learn proper ways I guess you can say. Since you are a bit ahead of me, I’ll be looking after your tweets and posts. I hope we get this thing down and I’ll share whatever interesting things i learn with you too! I am going to check out the website you posted above in hopes that some of these things will become a lot clearer to me and I can eventually learn to use Twitter to its full potential. Happy Tweeting.

Comment #7

  • Don’t Know it? Topeka It. by Matthew Caudill

  • April 9, 2010

  • This was pretty hilarious. When people went to Google on April Fool’s Day and saw that it said Topeka, they must have been so lost. Usually when there is an odd image on Google, I instinctively click on it and expect the description to explain why that image is there on that specific day. When I clicked on Topeka, it linked to what looked like an official press release or announcement. It looked very believable so I’m sure that there were those who weren’t aware that it was April Fool’s Day and found it strange but probably believed it. Hopefully they found out that they were an April Fool. Of course there were those that didn’t sign on to Google on April 1 and totally missed out on the fun.

Comment #8

  • A Picture’s Worth a Thousand Words by Tara Duffy

  • April 14, 2010

  • Hey. I just wanted to let you know that I like the way that your blog post titles are more creative than “Chapter 5 notes” or the like. If a person that is browsing the web comes by your blog post, they will find it helpful and not like the summary at the end of the chapter in a text book. Although we are blogging as required for a class, we should all make an effort to attract readers to our blog website that are simply curious about public relations. Keep it up. Happy Blogging 🙂

Comment #9

  • Being Creative and Paying the bills by Tiffany Harris

  • April 14, 2010

  • Tiffany, you are right when you say that the ultimate fear of college students is choosing the right career. Many students have failed to research their career field to the full extent. For example, if one majors in Public relations, one can be a representative for a company or you can become an event planner for a company. I was advised by a guest speaker in an FPRA to finish my Bachelor’s degree and go out and work for a couple of years in order to get to know myself and what I would truly like to get my Master’s degree in. In these times, a Bachelor’s degree feels like a high school diploma because one’s Master’s determines what one has specific knowledge and interest in. People can also take the approach that Mallyackel has taken and work in one of their concentrations and make a hobby or second source of income with the interests in which one can work from home. There are few people out there that have known exactly what career path they wanted to pursue their entire life so students should not be easily discouraged when they are unsure. Thanks for this post!

Comment #10

  • Twitter’s Fourth Year of Failing by Matthew Caudill

  • April 10, 2010

  • Aw. Come on! Twitter is great. You just have to follow people that know how to use it. Yes it’s true that no one wants a step-by-step feed on what someone has done during their entire day, but Twitter brings much valuable information that might be of interest to you. If you follow professionals that work in the career that you would like to work in, you can learn lots from them and even be let it on an internship opening that could drastically affect your experience that will positively influence your career. Twitter can be life changing. When I first started using it, I just saw it as a Facebook with only status updates but it’s much more than that. You can use it to alert people that you have added a new blog post or use Foursquare to tell people of a neat place to eat, etc. There are so many possibilities and of the few that I have discovered, I am highly satisfied. It’s also great for reminders of assignments due in class or getting explanations on classwork from your peers. It’s also great to use in the classroom! I hope that you can give Twitter another chance and learn to enjoy it in the future.

Comment #11

  • PR Department of PR Firm? by Tiffany Harris

  • April 20, 2010

  • I like the way that you concluded this post with a question. It’s so true that graduating seniors are super nervous about the job search. I find that working in a PR department seems a bit intimidating since there are so many other individuals that are a lot more familiar with PR than a new-hire would be.

    Being scatter-minded is something that I feel PR people really are and MAN do I fit into that category. Sometimes I just get overwhelmed with an information overload.

    In a PR firm, it can be a bit less stressful for a new PR person. They get to work at their own pace and are not pressured by the rest of the PR department. But then again, there aren’t that many people that one can learn from being a single PR rep.

Comment #12

  • Being Online is Not Enough & More Advice from Gen Y by Gina Bericchia

  • April 26, 2010

  • By having many weak connections in your network, you are able to access many people’s resources. If you have a distant friend who has a distant friend that can offer you a job, it is worth while to keep that relationship. At times, it can be overwhelming to keep up with the hundreds, if not thousands, of people you connect with on social networking sites, but it is pretty simple to make relationships online. It doesn’t take extensive conversations and long walks on the beach but simply a “hello, good morning.” or a “retweet” along with a comment on their tweet. Our generation tends to do smart work instead of hard work so by being involved in social media, you can become acquainted with PR pros from the comfort of you desk chair or even from you mobile phone while you ride the bus downtown. We should all strive to have an attitude similar to Hannah’s because you never know what you can learn, acquire, etc. Don’t miss any opportunity!

Comment #13

  • Brands that Twitter by Rena Kosiek

  • April 27, 2010

  • I think that it is great that companies have jumped on board with social media. In the past, social media was looked upon as something that people spent their leisure time on. Since consumers, etc. are already on websites such as Twitter, Facebook, and others, it is genius for companies to reach out to their consumers where they already are. It is also a more interesting way to view company advertisements or pitches as opposed to printed ads, television commercials and the like. Some companies even inform their followers of sales and special discount for Twitter followers. It’s definitely a great and developing technique.

Comment #14

  • The Real Value of a Facebook Fan by Lisa McLaughlin

  • April 28, 2010

  • This post is pretty interesting. Knowing that I am a fan of at least 700 Facebook fan pages means that I am worth at least $2500 in total. I think that the number of fans lets the companies know how many people actually like their product. “Fandom” also lets the company know who their consumers are and what tactics they should be using to advertise. By checking out who becomes a fan of their Facebook page, they can see the age, race, etc., of those who are fans of their product. I believe that it helps them turn their marketing and advertising to those who actually like their products. Facebook fan pages help companies advertise to and attract the accurate crowd.

Comment #15

  • The Secret Kept from SEU Students by Tara Duffy

  • April 29, 2010

  • Yea, this is crazy! I saw this in the Ledger as well and was pretty much shocked. Seeing as we are all young adults, we are well aware of the dangerous things that happen in our community. Simply by sending students an e-mail that encourages students to be aware of the surroundings is clearly not enough. As adults, I believe that we have the right to know what goes on on our campus. Things happen and there is no need to hide them, rather we should be told of the things that happen so we can take action and contact security in order to promote a safer environment.

Comment #15

  • Twitter, the bird with a loud voice by Tara Duffy.

  • April 29, 2010

  • You have used a very creative title and the picture, as mentioned above, is eye-catching. Twitter has its pro’s and con’s but I find that you simply have to approach it with the correct attitude. If a person tries Twitter out while thinking that it is pointless, it surely will be pointless to them. If you follow interesting people, you can learn a great deal of information that will be beneficial to a career in public relations. Building relationships is something that I am still learning how to do but so far it has been quite successful. By doing so, you are able to expand your network and you might even get opportunities that you would have, otherwise, missed if you failed to attempt to get to know some professionals. I hope you continue to enjoy Twitter and that it may benefit you immeasurably. 🙂

Comment # 16

  • Getting a Job! Eek! by Tiffany Harris

  • April 29, 2010

  • I think that it is crucial to change your resume for each potential employer. One tip that I read was to even copy and paste the job description into the objective section of your resume and simply put it in your own words. If you highlight the keywords that the company is looking for, you are definitely more likely to get the position than the person who sent out a general resume.

    It is important to capture the employer’s attention because, more often than not, they spend their day reading through piles of resumes. Someone has got to stand out and grab their attention.

    A resume is a description of yourself, your skills and a basic statement of what you have to offer the company. If you can’t take a few extra minutes to make a special resume, the employer won’t take a few seconds to look over your resume. Sad, but true!!

Comment #17

  • TOW week 12. Podcasts! by Noelle Cottom

  • April 29, 2010

  • Like Jeni, I had never listened to a podcast before being in PR Writing class. After having listened to a couple of podcasts, I have come to enjoy them.

    I love the fact that they are so easy to download. The fact that they are conversational, keeps people wanting to listen. You can listen to a podcast while driving to work or school and learn without being bored out of your mind.

    I loved how you pointed out that podcasts give you an idea of what an interview is like. I hadn’t noticed that until I read your post. At times, I am unsure as to what questions I need to ask during an interview. By listening to podcasts often, I can become a better interviewer. Thanks for pointing that out!

Comment #18

  • PR Connections #9 by Lo Woodward

  • April 29, 2010

  • This picture is so funny but so true. Unfortunately, not many people are aware of these differences since all these categories are often shoved into one category in the mind of those that are not professionals in any of the fields. Looking at the advertising one made me laugh. They try to get the information stuck in your mind even if you refuse.

    This picture provides a funny yet very real perception of marketing, public relations, advertising, and branding.

    Thanks for sharing!

Comment #19

  • Just Because you’re graduating, don’t rule internships out… by Samantha Filliben

  • April 29, 2010

  • Great post. I will be a senior in the fall and, like you, I would like to have a job by the time I graduate. Internships are definitely a great opportunity so I have been encouraged to take as many as I can. By interning, you can gain invaluable experience which makes you more competitive in the job market. Even if you have interned before, a post-graduation internship is a great choice. It gives you more exposure to what it’s really like to have a PR job and, at times, may even give you the opportunity to make mistakes that would have cost your job! Good luck on your internship and I’m sure that the employment that you are looking for is on the way!

Comment #20

  • Growing up with the Internet by Casey Neal Carter

  • April 29, 2010

  • I feel that we definitely have an advantage over those who had to jump in to social media as it became a “must.” Having grown up when the Internet became popular, I learned all the tips and tricks early on. Social media can at times be like learning a language when you are younger. The longer you wait to learn to “speak” social media, the harder it will be. I feel that surely people, like my mom, can learn to understand the social media tactics as long as they dedicate some time to learn the many different aspects. I am at the age that I can say “I’ve used a PC for over 10 years” under the skills section of my resume. Ha ha ha!

Comment # 21

  • Did you learn? I did. By Tara Duffy

  • April 30, 2010

  • It is often difficult to keep up with AP style, especially since it changes so often. It is important that we keep out stylebook handy all the time. Whenever you are in doubt, simply look it up. the flags that Barbara gave us for the AP Stylebook help a lot for quick and easy references. Again, as you blog and write in AP Style, the easier it is for you to embrace it. It’s so cool that you want to be an actress. Learning how to network and promote yourself is ideal. Social media definitely helps. I now enjoy getting to know people in Twitter even if it is simply to hope for some of their skill and knowledge to rub off on me ha ha.

Comment #22

  • Fun Ways to Beef Up Your Resume by Jeni Molitor

  • April 30, 2010

  • Great post Jen. Since I do speak another language, I do enjoy writing that I can fluently speak, write and read Spanish. I believe it does help a whole lot because you become a resource that is beneficial for the company that you work for. Creativity is ideal! While a manager looks over piles of resumes, they must all blur together after a while. If you create something that they enjoy reading, then they surely will enjoy working with you so they will, more likely than not, offer you the job that you applied for. Learning new things just shows that you are willing to learn from others and are not afraid of failing. Never thought of that before but it would look really great on a resume.

Comment #23

  • Professional Interview by Megan Linder

  • April 30, 2010

  • You are so lucky to have connections with someone who does PR for the Orlando Magic! I have grown fond of getting to know public relations professionals since they have already gone through the path that I plan to go through. By asking them for help and for tips, you can learn what typical PR people expect from not only people pitching to the media, but also from potential interns or employees. Learning from their experiences also can help you learn what you need to do or what you need to stay away from as a potential PR practitioner. Thanks for sharing this post!

Comment #24

  • Basics for Blogging Beginners: 10 Things to Know by Michelle White

  • April 30, 2010

  • Like with any other service on the Internet, it is important to learn how to use WordPress properly before you start making not only a mess, but a fool of yourself. Thanks for pointing that out. It is important to be consistent with your blog topics. I see the blogging that we were required to do for PR Writing class as a stepping stone to who we really are as bloggers. By focusing on one topic that you really are passionate about, you are showing your own consistency. By syncing WordPress with Twitter, you can have your friends and even the PR professionals that follow you check out your writing skills. All the added traffic raises the possibility of your blog appearing on the first page of a Google search when your name is googled.
Comment #25
  • Twitter: Brand Yourself by Michelle White
  • April 30, 2010
  • These are good people to follow then! It is very cool that you are using Twitter to expand your professional network. I believe that we should all take advantage of what sites like Twitter have to offer PR students and hopefuls. It’s awesome that you got an internship interview with YLakeland! Their blog is very professional yet appealing to the college students in the area. Good luck!
    Leave a Reply

