Guest Blogger: Jeni Molitor

2 Dec

Last semester I had the priviledge of taking Public Relations Writing with Jeni Molitor. We both were new to the whole Twitter and blogging thing but we sort of grew together in the social media realm. It is nice to see that we have gained a great understanding of social media and now that we are in Corporate Public Relations class together, here is what Jeni has to say about Twitter the second time around:

One week of Twitter

by jemolitor

I am proud to say I’m better at Twitter the second time around. I was first introduced to Twittering last year in my Public Relations classes and I was less than excited to use it. I didn’t understand the point of telling people what I was doing or sharing my thoughts on subjects, I figured that’s what I have Facebook for right?  This time however I was more into it.

My Twitter account was already set up so I didn’t have to worry about adding or creating anything new which was really nice.  I can’t really say that it was difficult or strange to use it since I’ve already been acquainted with it so it was a breeze! I enjoy reading the posts by those who are in the industry and learning all about what they’re doing. It’s a great way to make connections and now that I’m finally a senior I get it more and I am more engaged in what people are saying in regards to the world of PR and posting things about what’s going on around the world.

I would recommend twitter to anyone because it’s really a great way to connect and meet people. It’s great for making connections outside your bubble and communicate with people who are in the real world; but it’s also great to make connections with people in class or on campus. Twitter is really simple to use and it is what you make it. If you put the time and effort into it and really use the resources placed at your fingertips then it isn’t a chore for a class but a portal to a new world.

For more of Jeni’s posts visit her blog Exploring the World Around

Leave a Reply

